blueberry zucchini flaxseed cookies

They are a mix of healthy with a hint of indulgence, vanilla with a bite of blueberry, and granola traced with bits of brown sugar. They are the perfect complement to a morning Greek yogurt, a touch of sweet for an afternoon snack and a craving satisfied for a late night dessert.

Sitting in a glass casing on the check-out counter at my hometown’s health food store, Peter’s Cornucopia, I first discovered the magic taste of these Blueberry Zucchini Flaxseed cookies when I was in high school. For years, they have been selling them at their in-store cafe, conveniently placing them next to the register to buy one (or maybe a dozen) to bring home. Since I currently live in Boston and the batch of homemade chocolate chip cookies stored in the freezer keep “mysteriously” disappearing after dinner every night, I decided to create my own version of these cookies to have around our house for a healthy alternative.

When I tried looking up the recipe to recreate at home, I found one that seemed as though it matched and so I decided to give it a shot. At first, the ingredients intimidated me. Flaxseed? Organic bran flour? I didn’t know how to bake with these staples, let alone know how to go about buying them. After making a trip to Whole Foods and spending much too long looking at all of the different flours I didn’t even know existed, I packed up the essentials and headed home. I ended up substituting some ingredients, opting for other versions that tended to my personal palette of flavors so that I could make it a Tessipe.

The end result has been 24 healthy cookies that have been dunked in my 9 o’clock coffee, given me a snack to look forward to after I finish my lunch and something that I keep reaching for in my fridge whenever the mood strikes. As I type this post, there are only a few left and I already can’t wait to make them again.

What you will need:

1 ¾ cups Organic Oat Flour (the original recipe calls for Organic Bran Flour)

1 ¾ cups Light Brown Sugar (firmly packed)

3 ¾ cups Flaxseed (dark or light)

½ tsp. Salt

1 cup Unsalted Butter (softened)

2 Eggs

1 tsp. Vanilla

3 ¾ cups Organic Vanilla Flaxseed Granola

1 Zucchini (grated)

½ cup Frozen Blueberries

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, brown sugar, flaxseed and salt.
  2. Add in the butter, eggs and vanilla. Mix thoroughly.
  3. Mix in the granola and zucchini. Then, add in the blueberries. Mix well.
  4. The cookie mixture will be very moist so let it set by placing it in the refrigerator for 10-15 minutes.
  5. After letting the mixture set, take it out of the fridge. Use your hands to create cookies that are a little bigger than the size of a golf ball. Lightly, pack the mixture into this ball and place on a greased cookie sheet.
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes at 350 degrees.
  7. Keep in the refrigerator or on your counter to enjoy throughout the week!
This entry was posted in Tessipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to blueberry zucchini flaxseed cookies

  1. threebrits says:

    These look incredible!!

Leave a Reply

