simple twist

simple twist picture

Carefree days swimming in our neighborhood pool, my hair in knots from underwater flips, my skin gently bronzed from the sun, my fingers sticky the from countless watermelon slices, a bathing suit as my everyday outfit. This is how I spent my childhood summers.

It didn’t matter if we were playing under the sun or laying under the stars, if dinner was at 4 or even 8, if friends decided to come over first thing in the morning to take advantage of the day or if they wanted to stay later to make s’mores by the campfire. Instead, we would play on and my parents would enjoy a cup of coffee in their Adirondack chairs as the sun set, waving to our neighbors who were walking by and chatting about the day. Summer always seemed slower back then.

Now, my summer looks very different. Although the weekends are full of family and friends, the days are much busier, there are more obligations on the calendar, and the weather isn’t an eternal 90 degrees (what I thought it was as a child).

Last week, I was driving home from my summer master’s class and I wanted just one thing to make me feel like that kid again, even for just a moment. So, Nate and I walked to the closest ice cream shop and I ordered what I haven’t gotten in years: a vanilla and chocolate twist in a sugar cone.

And it tasted just as good as I remembered.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

