hello, june

hello, june

Hello, June. How are you? I have to say that I thought I missed you completely. I don’t know if it was because your breath was a chill on my neck rather than a tickle in my bones or because the blades of grass sprinkled about brought me right back to the first day of stepping onto the field hockey field before school started in the fall. Or maybe it was the way I saw one of your leaves fall ever so gently and slowly from a tree outside my window that made it seem as though it was waving goodbye and not hanging around for a while. Whatever it was, I had this unsettling feeling that you were gone and so was the entire summer. The barbecues, the ice cream, the time spent with family. The birds singing us awake, the evenings stretching into an orange haze before the first rumble of thunder rolls through.

I knew that summer was just beginning but in that moment, I didn’t feel it in my soul. And thankfully, it was only just a moment. But that was enough to have me realize that time is passing much too fast and that I don’t want to waste any more of it.

So many exciting things have happened over the last few months. Nate and I got engaged (yay!), we moved into a beautiful apartment, I became an Auntie for the second time, we visited London, I started a master’s program, Nate and I created a cookbook together, new Tessipes have been discovered and so much more. Between you and I, we have so much to share. Just like summer, this is another beginning. And I can’t wait to get started.

This entry was posted in Pink and Pearls and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

