hamburger roll

20140701-092224-33744508.jpg

Happy July, you & i! As I am writing this post, summer is in full swing in Boston (hello, 90 degrees) and I am counting down the days until I escape to the Adirondacks for the 4th of July. It is one of my absolute favorite holidays and I am so excited to be with family and friends by the lake in God’s Country. I know I have been MIA for the past few months but I’m back and ready to roll. Hamburger roll that is. Since this is my first Tessipe in a while, I wanted to give you something delicious to bite into and enjoy this upcoming weekend.

Growing up with an Italian mother, I was always surrounded by food rolled up in a bed of dough. Sausage rolls, spinach rolls, eggplant rolls, you name it. Now, I’m taking my Italian heritage and combining it with an all-American 4th of July favorite to put a spin on a summertime classic. The best part is, you can create your own roll to your liking and add different condiments and toppings to mix it up. For me, I am not a particular fan of pickles on my hamburger but it’s easy to leave them off. Instead, I love to lather the hamburger meat with lots of ketchup and a little bit of mustard and to top it all off with shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I can go on and on about this but I think you should just try it for yourself. Here’s the Tessipe:

What you will need:
1 lb. pizza dough
1 lb. ground round hamburger meat
1 8 oz. bag shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1 small jar Vlasic Kosher Dill Baby Whole pickles (diced), (optional)
1 bottle Heinz Tomato Ketchup
1 bottle French’s Yellow Mustard
Montreal Steak Seasoning to taste

Directions:
1) Let the dough rise for a few hours.
2) Heat the oven to 350 degrees.
3) In a sautee pan on the stove, brown your ground round and season with Montreal Steak Seasoning.
4) Remove pan from heat and place cooked ground round in a dish lined with paper towels to drain and cool.
5) Sprinkle flour on clean surface and roll the dough into the shape of a circle with a rolling pin. About a 12 inch circle.
6) Spread cooked ground round evenly over the circle of dough to the edges.
7) Squirt the ketchup in a zig-zag pattern across the meat.
8) Squirt the mustard in opposite zig-zag pattern across the meat.
9) Optional topping: sprinkle the diced pickles on top of the meat/ketchup/mustard combination.
10) Finally, top with shredded sharp cheddar jack cheese.
11) Starting at the edge, carefully and tightly roll the dough until the edges come together.
12) Pinch the ends together so that the dough is completely sealed.
13) Transfer roll seam-side down to a baking sheet that has been sprayed with Pam and bake for 30 minutes.
14) Let roll set for 10 minutes before cutting into one-inch slices.

Happy 4th of July, you & i!

20140701-092805-34085677.jpg

20140701-092828-34108761.jpg

20140701-092848-34128957.jpg

20140701-092906-34146797.jpg

20140701-092925-34165409.jpg

20140701-092941-34181446.jpg

20140701-092959-34199042.jpg

This entry was posted in Tessipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to hamburger roll

  1. Pingback: barefoot natessa: from our kitchen to yours | you & i

  2. Pingback: top picks from you & i for the 4th of july | you & i

  3. Pingback: happy tailgating! | you & i

Leave a Reply

