spinach balls

20121126-111836.jpg

20121126-111846.jpg

20121126-111905.jpg

20121126-111940.jpg

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving! Of course, the holiday celebrated so many things but for me it’s mostly about the food!!! (I grew up in an Italian household, can’t you tell?) I am excited about this post because I am about to share with you the very recipe that coined the word “Tessipe”! Every year around this time, the turkeys are baking in the oven, the potatoes are being mashed and splattered with gravy and the pumpkin pies are being decorated with whipped cream BUT my mouth is always watering for these spinach balls. So here’s the story behind the name… Before going home for the holiday last year, I wanted to bring a mini-Thanksgiving to my dorm room table so I whipped out this Tessipe to make for my boyfriend, Nate. After tasting them and discovering just how delicious they are, he made them for his family’s Thanksgiving and his brother said, “it’s a Tessipe!” I’ve loved the word ever since. They are quick and easy yet scrumptious with every bite. Not only does my family have these for Thanksgiving, but also for Christmas. Whenever someone asks me what food I’m looking forward to the most, my answer is always “spinach balls, of course!” Try this for your next appetizer, side dish or as a holiday specialty!

Spinach Balls Tessipe

What you will need:

2 packages chopped spinach (thawed and drained REALLY well)
1 egg (slightly beaten)
1 cup of Pepperidge crumbled (not cubed) Seasoned Stuffing
1 stick melted butter (cooled)
Salt and pepper (to taste)
1/2 cup Romano cheese (can substitute with Feta)

Instructions:

In a large mixing bowl, mix the well-drained spinach with ALL of the other ingredients. After it is mixed well, take a cookie scoop or use your hands to make spinach balls about the size of a golf ball. Place in a dish and freeze for at least 4 hours and as long as 1 week. When ready to bake, place frozen spinach balls in a preheated 350 degree oven for 25 to 30 minutes until lightly golden brown.

What’s your favorite holiday food? Leave comments below so that you & i can share our traditions together!

This entry was posted in Tessipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

